Finally…. Citi Field will feel like "Mets Field"

It really does look awesome from the front

I HAVE to comment on the press release from this past weekend regarding the Mets adding more club history to Citi Field. The mets.com article can be found here.

It was a typical weekend afternoon. I was browsing the blogs as usual looking for something new and interesting on the hot stove. As I linked to Mets Police, a wave of emotions flooded over me.

Mets Fans Win One

After a seemingly endless wave of negativity surrounding the team over the past year, this was something to be proud of. This was something to get excited about. The fans spoke and the front office listened. And you can probably count on one hand the number of times that has happened in the history of this franchise.

If the point was to not only win back the fans’ trust, but to also get said fans excited to come back to Citi Field in 2010, I’d have to say the Mets hit a home run. I am pumped to see the upgrades and can’t wait to step foot in the hall of fame. Don’t get me wrong, once the excitement surrounding this news dies down and we get deeper into winter and closer to opening day, all the blue and orange stairways and Mets Hall of Fames in the world won’t matter if Omar doesn’t make significant moves in upgrading the roster.

In the meantime however, I’m going to bask in this rare moment of positivity. Positivity in the fact that fans opinions DO matter to the front office. Positivity in the fact that I can’t wait to go back to Citi Field, see the blue, orange, and full color Mets photos outside the stadium, and get the heck into that Mets Hall of Fame to see all of my favorite Mets players and personalites.

I am excited to see how much better the stadium looks and I am pumped that sections of the stadium are finally named after the Mets who wore the numbers on the outfield wall. (Not just the Dodgers/Robinson Rotunda) I am thrillled that the guys running our team realized that it’s got a pretty decent history and that celebrating it is a good thing… especially for the fans.

Let’s Go Mets!

One thought on “Finally…. Citi Field will feel like "Mets Field"

  1. Hey thanks for the shoutout! drop me a note at shannon at metspolice.com and I'll make sure I have you linked.

Leave a comment