Home Run Apple picks the playoffs

Now that the tiebreaker game is over and the MLB playoff picture is complete, I can officially declare my intentions on who I want to win each series. Full disclosure, I’m picking winners based on their appeal to me, not based on who might be projected to win. As Brad Pitt once said to Jonah Hill, “the playoffs are a crapshoot.”

Spoiler Alert: I’m jumping hard on the Pirates World Series bandwagon if they can make it past the Reds tonight.

NL Wild Card Game: Cincinatti at Pittsburgh – I like the Pirates here. The home field advantage will be evident tonight, as playoff starved yinzers get the chance to chant “Lets go Bucs” on national TV.

AL Wild Card: Tampa Bay at Cleveland – Tough call here. I love Believeland and their resurgence to relevancy. I also like Terry Francona and the way he seems to get the most out of his guys. But the Rays in a “do or die” with Alex Cobb on the mound and Longoria in the zone? Gotta go Rays here.

NLDS: LA vs. Atlanta – This match-up is so perfect.  Especially in light of recent events involving Brian McCann and Freddie Freeman, aka the Fun Police. Meanwhile, Yasiel Puig, and by association the Dodgers, have a penchant for showing a little too much exuberance at times. Benches will absolutely clear during this series. It’s not a question of if, it’s a question of when. This is going to be a true soap opera, WWE, reality TV, DRAMA-FEST. It’s just a shame these teams couldn’t meet in the NLCS and play 7. Really can’t wait for McCann’s first arrest as commissioner of the fun police. I’ll take the Dodgers in 4.

NLDS: Pittsburgh vs. St.Louis – I hate the Cardinals. Always have, always will. The only time in recent memory I actually rooted for the Cardinals to do anything of significance was when they met the 102 win Phillies in the NLDS and promptly sent them packing via rally squirrel things. And look what happened after that…  St. Louis went on to win the World Series.  Plus, I’m on the Pirate bandwagon. What of it? Pittsburgh in 5.

ALDS: Tampa Bay vs. Boston – Not really into the beards. Yet another annoying thing Boston hangs their hat on. But this team is built to win and is firing on all cylinders. I’d love for the Rays to win, but I’ll take the Sox in this series. Red Sox in 4.

ALDS: Detroit vs. Oakland – Two powerhouses in the AL face off in a 5 game series. Yet another series I wish was one round later so it had the potential to go 7. Detroit needs the Verlander of old to show up and accompany Max Scherzer if they want any shot of winning this one. I’m taking the A’s in 5.

NLCS: Pittsburgh vs. LA – Pittsburgh deserves this series and the Dodgers are just so good. Should actually yield a pretty dramatic series. And regardless, this has potential to go 7 with the well-roundedness of both teams. And I’m the one making the predictions, so I say Pirates in 7  because I can.

ALCS: Oakland vs. Boston – In my opinion, the two best teams in the AL this year. In regards to history, Boston has 2 world championships in recent memory and Oakland hasn’t won the AL pennant since 1990, choosing instead to bow out in game 5 of a bunch of ALDS  series just to really make their fans want to gouge their eyes out. My prediction? Oakland finally gets their world series berth. 7 games will be played of course, because this is my fantasy prediction after all.

World Series: Pittsburgh vs. Oakland – Oh, weird! The two teams I most enjoy pulling for in this playoff field have miraculously made it to the World Series in my prediction post. Do I pull for Lone Survivor-bearded Josh Redddick and fat juicer Bartolo Colon or dreadlocked superstar Andrew McCutchen and rookie sensation Gerrit Cole? I’m a National League guy so Pirates it is. 7 Games of course.

Then, after Pittsburgh breaks all their losing droughts at once and the yinzers become absolutely insufferable next year, I can go ahead and start to hate them. And I’ll be all about crapping on their lame bandwagon that I jumped off after the final out of Game 7.

Leave a Reply

